• Bathurst Sale 2021
    Lazarus 2020
    garrards 2020
    Alabar – Rock N Roll Heaven
  • Racing Tips
    Classy pacer joins elite fraternity Classy pacer joins elite fraternity


    CLASSY pacer Emain Macha joined an elite fraternity with his crowning as South Australian Horse of the Year. A popular winner among the strong... Classy pacer joins elite fraternity

    CLASSY pacer Emain Macha joined an elite fraternity with his crowning as South Australian Horse of the Year.

    A popular winner among the strong crowd at last night’s industry awards function, Emain Macha became the sixth dual winner of the prestigious title and the first in the past decade.

    By securing the award in 2017 and regaining it this year the son of Safari also became just the third campainger to return to the top after losing the throne.

    Pappy McCoy was the initial pacer to achieve the feat in 1988 and 1990, with Keep It Up following suit by securing the honour in 1994 and 2001.

    Prepared by astute horseman Greg Scholefield, Emain Macha finished the season with seven wins and six placings from 14 starts for earnings of $64,708.

    The gelding’s victories include the Victor Harbour, Christmas, Italian, ANZAC and Wedderburn Cups.

    Emain Macha also finished second in the Mildura Cup and third in the South Australia Cup.

    Emain Macha was also the obvious choice for Aged Pacer of the Year, with Just Makemine Diamonds the Aged Mare of the Year.

    Other star pacers recognised throughout the evening include Celebrity Chef as Two-Year-Old Filly of the Year, with Wolf Of West Bay her colt/gelding counterpart.

    Culture King was well-received as Three-Year-Old Colt/Gelding of the Year, with Shesashark annexing the fillies’ division.

    Among the trotters Kitsilano was a unanimous winner of the Three-Year-Old of the Year, with the Greg Rogers-trained youngster claiming the same division of the Square Trotters Association Awards.

    Ten Spanners is the Aged Trotting Mare of the Year, with King Of The Roses and The Paigeboy locked together as Aged Trotter of the Year.

    The Paigeboy was also the the Square Trotters Association’s Horse of the Year.

    Rounding out the gait was Bacardi Bindi as Two-Year-Old Trotter of the Year.

    Grand producer Aratusa Lass was declared Broodmare Of Year after her progeny enjoyed another strong season.

    Away from the equines, Ken Rogers was bestowed the highest honour as the recipient of the Jim Hurley Medal following his break out season in the sulky.

    Rogers was also presented with his silks as one of two South Australian representatives in the upcoming Australian Drivers’ Championship.

    Rogers will be joined by Dani Hill, who was also applauded as the state’s premier driver.

    Brodie Webster will don the SA silks during the Australasian Young Drivers’ Championship in New Zealand.

    Ryan Hryhorec claimed multiple ‘gongs’ as South Australia’s leading trainer and the Square Trotters Association’s premier trainer and driver.

    Hryhorec’s niece Kaela Hryhorec received due recognition as the leading concession driver.

    Geoff Easom was once again the top breeder, with prominent couple Merv and Meg Butterworth the Owners of the Year.

    Hardworking administrator Phil Wood was the perfect choice for the Nevada Smoke Award, while Bob and Marilyn Fowler’s amazing support to the industry saw them bestowed the Chairman’s award.

    BOTRA also declared Lisa Ryan as its top driver, with David Harding recognised as the leading trainer.

    Respected horsewoman Claire Goble is the Reinswomen’s Association premier trainer, while ground breaker Sandra Hutchinson was presented an Honorary Award.

    Lincoln Moore was the recipient of HRSA’s Media Merit Award.

    Last, and some would say least, www.nationaltrotguide.com.au’s very own Paul Courts was a gracious winner of the Literary Award for his report on the closing of Weigall Oval.

    Related Stories

    Paul Courts

    No comments so far.

    Be first to leave comment below.

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    error: Content is protected !!